Chennai Super Kings, valued at approximately $100 million is one of the pioneers of the first IPL. Their team is led by the mastermind M.S. Dhoni in every season who manages the team strategically and manages to win the league title four times. The team is star-packed with the best cricket players worldwide.

Four times league title winner

Chennai Super Kings managed to lift the championship trophy four times. Starting with 2010, they followed that up with their championship win in 2011 again. The third title win for Chennai came in 2018, and the final title was in 2021; A remarkable fact is that they were led by MS Dhoni in all the championship wins. For more interesting IPL facts and information, you can check out, where you can find odds, tips, and the best sites for cricket among many other sports.

The team was in their third year in the IPL in 2010. They won seven and lost seven of their fourteen league matches. Despite this, they finished second in the points table due to their high run rate. They advanced to the finals after defeating the Deccan Chargers by 38 runs. To win the title, they met and overcame the Mumbai Indians.

The championship success in 2011 was similar to the previous year's victory. This year, as previously, the Chennai Super Kings were captained by MS Dhoni. They finished second in the points standings and had the greatest net run rate. The title was won by the Dhoni-led Chennai Super Kings, who defeated the Royal Challengers Bangalore by 58 runs.

And finally, 2021 was their all-time-best season so far. They still had MS dhoni to lead them and a bunch of experienced cricketers, and they managed to take the trophy home by winning 9 matches and losing 5.

Overview of Chennai Super Kings

The last IPL created many good memories for the Chennai Super Kings as they won the cup again. This was surprising as after 2019, they were at their all-time lowest and had the worst season of their entire IPL career. Still, they managed to win the trophy thanks to the mastermind Dhoni and the team’s experienced cricketers. What remains to be seen is if they can continue this form onwards.


One of the biggest blessings for Chennai Super Kings is that Suresh Raina has returned to the squad. It will make their already solid middle-order even better. Along with Suresh Raina, we will see Dhoni, Faf du Plessis, Robin Uthappa, Ravindra Jadeja, Ambati Rayudu, Moeen Ali, Sam Curran, and Ruturaj Gaikwad. K. Gowtham, giving a solid lineup to Chennai. The best part about their bowling is that they have Ravindra Jadeja, Imran Tahir, Mitchell Santner, and Moeen Ali. They are well experienced and are ready to lead the bowling attack. Ruturaj Gaikwad has shown to have potential in him. Chennai also has R Sai Kishore as a player to be doing some possible damage to the opponents with his spin attack.


The first and foremost issue with the Chennai Super Kings team construction is that they have built their squad with older players. Even though they have been consistent throughout their whole career, It will become challenging for them to compete against the other teams’ younger and faster-moving players. Faf du Plessis, Robin Uthappa, MS Dhoni, Amabati Rayadu, Suresh Raina, and Dwayne Bravo; all of them are facing this issue.

CSK Stats in every IPL -
  • Season 2008: Made it to the finals in their debut year but unfortunately lost to Rajasthan Royals.
  • Season 2009: Chennai made it to the semi-finals in 2009 and lost to Royal Challengers Bangalore in that stage.
  • Season 2012: After two consecutive title wins, CSK again went to the finals in 2012, and they lost to the KKR in the finals.
  • Season 2013: They again went to the finals in 2013 and became the runners-up and lost to the Mumbai Indians by 23 runs in the finals.
  • Season 2014: The consistency continued in 2014 as well. Though they couldn’t be in the finals, they took third place this year.
  • Season 2015: This was another close call to win the title. They went to the finals and lost to Mumbai Indians to become the runners-up that year.
  • Season 2019: After their win in the 2018 season, they faced Mumbai Indians in the finals in 2019. They lost yet again and became the runner-ups.
  • Season 2020: This was the most humiliating season for Chennai. They got to an all-time career low and held the seventh position in the points table.
  • Season 2021: The best season for them so far, Led by the mastermind Dhoni; the team was full of experienced players who snatched the trophy from KKR in the finals.


Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post
Like this content? Sign up for our daily newsletter to get latest updates.